Winners of the EWGAE awards, 2020/2022 Edition

Adrian Pollock Award

Dr. Marvin Hamstad Professor Emeritus, University of Denver (US)



Dr. Marvin Hamstad (Ph.D. ME/Solid Mechanics, University of California, Berkeley) has been continuously involved in acoustic emission research and applications since 1971. This AE work ranged from nondestructive testing applications to materials characterization. He has worked in the field of composite materials since the 1970s. His various research efforts have resulted in more than 135 papers. From 1971-84, he was at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. From 1984-2010, Dr. Hamstad was Professor of Engineering at the University of Denver. He is currently Professor

Emeritus. Since 1992, Dr. Hamstad has had positions working on AE at the National Institute of Standards and Technology, Boulder, CO. He was chairman of the Committee on Acoustic Emission from Reinforced Plastics for 16 years, where he initiated the AECM international symposiums (1983-98). Dr. Hamstad was an associate editor of J. Structural Health Monitoring, and currently serves as a co-editor of the JAE.

Young Researcher Award

Dr. Els Verstrynge Assistant Professor, Catholic University of Leuven (Belgium)



Dr. Els Verstrynge is Assistant Professor at the Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium. She has a dual background in structural and architectural engineering. Her research interests include multi-scale numerical and experimental analysis of degradation mechanisms in brittle construction materials, historical masonry and RC structures, advanced NDT and integrated monitoring, such as acoustic emission sensing. She has spent research stays at the Technical University of Delft (2009), the University of Minho (2012) and Stanford University (2016). She currently supervises a group of five PhDs and postdocs, with a research focus on "Multi-scale assessment"

of damage and degradation in existing structures".

Dr. Markus Sause Professor, University of Augsburg (Germany)



Dr. habil. Markus Sause studied Physics at the University of Augsburg and earned his doctoral degree in 2010 in Experimental Physics at the same place. In 2015, he succeeded with his Habilitation in Experimental Physics. Since 2016, he is Professor at University of Augsburg at the Institute for Materials Resource Management. In 2019, he received the "Science Award" from the German NDT society (DGZfP) for his outstanding contributions to the field of nondestructive testing. Since 2014, he is member of the EWGAE executive committee and active in several other committees dedicated to the testing and analysis of fiber-reinforced materials. His research

interest span the mechanics of fiber reinforced composites, their destructive and non-destructive testing as well as numerical methods to interpret the material behavior resulting in >100 publications. A special focus is given to bridge the gap between destructive testing approaches and non-destructive inspection to perform in-situ analysis of material failure.

EWGAE Student Paper Award (35th-EWGAE 2022 - Ljubljana)

- Identification of internal damages in reinforced concrete slabs using probability density field of acoustic emission events
 - <u>Fengqiao Zhang</u>, Yuguang Yang (Delft University of Technology), Max A.N. Hendriks (Norwegian University of Science)
- Development of novel acoustic emission source location method utilizing wavelet transform and Akaike information criterion

 Madi in Source location method utilizing wavelet transform
 - <u>Yoshito Suzuki</u>, Takuma Matsuo (Meiji University)
- Characterization of optical AE signals at loading of fibre reinforced composites
 Martin Misson, Primož Potočnik, Tomaž Kek, Zoran Bergant, Mario Sorgente, Edvard Govekar,
 Roman Šturm (Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, University of Ljubljana, LTH Castings d.o.o.,
 Optics 11)